Howdah ya do?

In the continuing expansion of Khurasan Miniatures 15mm Timurid army I’ve just finished something very cool. The crew of a war elephant! Okay, so I didn’t get to sculpt the actual nellie itself which was a bit of a shame, just some armor and the crew.

 

IMG_5196

stompy…

The crew included a naphtha thrower and an archer. The fit is a bit snug in the howdah but they can be arranged in different positions. One of the things I need to work on is the chunkiness of my smaller figures. While these guys are kitted out in armor, I need to get my layers a little thinner.

IMG_5193

An interesting feature of the  Timurid elephant armor is the protective shield for the handler. I’ve often occasionally, whenever the thought has occurred to me, wondered why the offensive chaps were protected up in their howdah while the guy who actually controlled the elephant was stuck out front just asking to be peppered with arrows.

IMG_5195

IMG_5197

Next up for the Timurids: some unfortunate hostages being driven before them. Now, where’s my festive Christmas music?

Leave a comment