An End to Waste…and a New Army

A new army? Like I need to start another project like I need a hole in the head. Never fear, this project is for no one but myself so I can work on it slowly with a clear conscience.

For a while I have dreamed of a Hobbit army. Lots of Hobbit militia, heroes, adventurers, cavalry, chariots (bit too warlike maybe?), anyway, you get the idea. Enough for an exclusive army. For a bit of punch I thought they could be allied to giants. Not the vicious, violent variety (that just wouldn’t fit with the theme of the army), rather the slightly dopey, bemused type. A bit like that one in the Harry Potter movie. Maybe it can have pannier-like things, carrying a few hobbits that are throwing rocks, firing a catapult, or something.

Regarding the ‘waste’ thing. I always, always, seem to overestimate the amount of greenstuff I’m going to use when I start a sculpting session. Add to that the constant interruptions when I’m working, or just the irresistible urge to get up and make a cup of tea, and the end result is a bunch of unworkable blobs of hardening greenstuff, They’re everywhere – goodness knows how many tubes of the stuff I’ve wasted in this way. So the genius solution I’ve come up with (ok, ok, its pretty darn obvious …) is to have a long-term, large project on the go, to which I can plop bits of the gs onto that I know I won’t use. Hence the giant!

Here it is so far. The basic shape has actually been done with some very old greenstuff I have (it’s dirty, won’t mix very well and doesn’t get pliable enough). I’ve stuck onto it any old bits lying around, and will add to it as I go from now on. When the shape is good then I’ll actively work on the final detail.

IMG_5198

It’s going to be big…

As for the Hobbits themselves, I would like them to be similar in size to the LOTR ones by GW, but perhaps a little more jolly and humorous, similar in that respect to their earlier range.

IMG_5200-3

Not a Hobbit